Implementing the BRC Global Standard for Food Safety – Issue 7

BRC Food Safety Accreditation

About British Retail Consortium (BRC)

Sorting ApplesThe British Retail Consortium (BRC) is the trade association for retailing in the United Kingdom (UK). The consortium develops standards for the safety, quality and operational criteria to fulfill the legal obligations of manufacturers of food, packaging and packaging material manufacturers and consumer products. The BRC Global Standards are a leading global safety and quality certification program used throughout the world by over 18,000 certificated suppliers in 90 countries through a network of over 80 accredited and BRC recognized Certification Bodies. The BRC Global Standards are widely used by suppliers and global retailers.


About BRC Food Safety Standard (issue 7)

The Standard is designed to provide certification for food manufacturers who implement good manufacturing practices and have the supporting quality management systems to produce safe, legal product meeting their customer’s quality requirements. The Standard can be applied to any food processing or packing operation where open food is handled, processed or packed. This standard is the first GFSI (Global Food Safety Initiative) benchmarked food safety scheme.

Fish PackagingThe BRC Global Standard for Food Certification aims to:

  • Promote best practices
  • Improve supplier standards and consistency, and avoid product failure
  • Eliminate multiple audits of food manufacturers
  • Support retailer objectives at all levels of the manufacturing supply chain
  • Provide concise information to assist with due diligence defense

The BRC Standard meets the strong need to preserve the integrity of branded products. The BRC Global Standard for Food Safety is a single verification that ensures both the fulfillment of legal obligations and of customer protection.

Course Objectives

This training course will help the attendees to:

  • Understand the benefits of the Standard
  • Understand the Requirements and Protocol
  • Understand the Scheme in detail


A good understanding of the principles of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point System (HACCP), working knowledge of quality management systems and technical knowledge of the food industry.

What the training will cover?

The training module will focus on the seven chapters of the standard.

  1. Senior Management Commitment and Continual Improvement – For any food safety system to be effective it is essential that the factory senior management is fully committed to its application and continued development.
  2. The Food Safety Plan (HACCP) – The basis for the Food Safety System is an effective HACCP program based on the requirements of the internationally recognized Codex Alimentarius system.
  3. Food Safety and Quality Management System – This sets out requirements for the management of food safety and quality, building upon the principles of ISO 9000. This includes requirements for product specifications, supplier approval, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.
  4. Site Standards – These define expectations for the processing environment including the layout and maintenance of the buildings and equipment, cleaning, pest control and waste management. This includes a specific section on managing foreign body controls.
  5. Product Control – This includes requirements at the product design and development stage, Allergen management and the expectations of Laboratories and product testing.
  6. Process Control – This covers the establishment and maintenance of safe process controls, weight/volume control and equipment calibration.
  7. Personnel – This defines requirements for the training of staff and expectations on protective clothing and personnel hygiene.

Cost of the training

Please request for a quote. The cost includes a copy of the most recent version of the standard.

For more information on our Food Safety training programs contact us at 1-877-663-1160 for a Project Manager in your area or email us at